The Spiderman Bagel

If you talk to my husband, who was the only consistent dinner guest at my house growing up (yup, we’ve been together that long), he can vouch for the fact that I hated avocados. I hated them with the fiery passion of a thousand burning suns. My parents put avocado on everything, and my sister would sometimes just eat it straight from the peel. Me? I picked out every single piece of avocado in the salad, and made annoying gagging noises whenever I encountered it (I’d like to claim this is something I’ve grown out of, but that’d be a lie).

Nowadays though? I am an avocado fiend. I can’t find any scientific journals to back me up, but I’ve always heard that your taste buds change every 7 years. Whether or not that’s true I’m not positive, but I do know that when I turned 21 I started eating avocado like it was going out of style. As a veg*n, it’s an especially important vegetable as it’s full of healthy fats, and it makes even the most basic salad filling. Plus it has about 3 grams of protein per avocado which makes it a good source of supplemental protein.

Given my (relatively) newfound love for avocados, I try to incorporate it into as many dishes as possible. And if I do say so myself, my most recent creation takes avocados to a whole new level. It combines several flavors that aren’t necessarily obvious combinations, in a messy, delicious concoction that’s good for breakfast, lunch (brunch) or dinner. As an added bonus, you’ll get to learn how to poach an egg! A skill I just recently acquired, and it’s way easier than it sounds.

I’ve named it the spiderman bagel, for reasons that should be (at least if you’re a geek) apparent at the end of the post.

Ingredients (serves 1, about 15 minute cooking time):

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Bagel (I prefer sesame or everything bagels for this)
  • 1/2 of a small onion
  • Guacamole (I’ll do a post on guac one day, but the lazy woman’s version is mashed up avocado with some lime juice)
  • Garlic (vegan) cream cheese
  • 4ish cups of water
  • 1 tspn olive oil
  • OPTIONAL: Hot Sauce

Tools:

  • Small skillet
  • Large sauce pan
  • Slotted spoon
  • Spatula
  • Toaster
  • 2 small bowls

Fill large sauce pan with the 4ish cups of water. You want the water to be about 1/2 an inch from the lip of the pan. Turn the heat to high and let the water come to a simmering boil.

Meanwhile, cut  the onion into thin rings. Put the small skillet, with the olive oil on the range at about a high/med-high heat. Place the cut onions into the skillet and brown them. Make sure to stir occasionally to get both sides. Onions are done when they are browned and vaguely translucent.

While the onions are cooking, and the water is boiling, cut the bagel in half and toast it to your toasting preference.

At this point, the water should be simmering and you can poach the eggs.

How to Poach Eggs:

Fill one of the bowls with warm water. Crack one egg into the other bowl. Once the water is simmering, slide the egg into the water. It will probably look like a jelly fish as it floats around in the water and starts to whiten. Let cook for about 3 minutes, or until it is completely white (you may be able to see the yolk through it, and that’s fine). Use the slotted spoon to remove the eggs and put them into the warm water to stay warm while you finish.

As the eggs are cooking, remove the bagel from the toaster and and remove the onions from the heat. Put cream cheese on both sides of the bagel. Make the bottom part of the bagel’s cream cheese just a bit thicker than the top side. Remove the poached eggs from the water (make sure to shake it a bit so the eggs aren’t soggy when they go on the bagel) and put it on top of the cream cheese. Top the eggs with guacamole and place the caramelized onions on top of the guacamole.

Then prepare to eat. Make yourself a napkin bib, forget your manners and dig in! You will get yolk, guac and cream cheese all over your hands, and it’s 100% worth it. I’m not sure this is the kind of meal you should woo someone with on a first date, but it’s definitely the kind of meal that will make someone fall in love with you. They won’t be able to help themselves. But before you unleash this recipe willy nilly, remember: with great power comes great responsibility.

Leave a Reply

